FAQ about quality certifications at HSM

What is EN 9120 certification?

The EN 9120 certification is an international quality standard for the quality management of companies operating in the aerospace and defense industry. It was developed by the International Aerospace Quality Group (IAQG) for quality management in the aerospace industry. The EN 9120 certification sets strict quality standards to ensure the safety, reliability and quality of products and services in these industries.

The EN 9120 certification thus ensures that the company operating in these industries implements stringent quality controls and processes and adheres to strict quality standards. This helps to ensure the safety of aircraft and flight-related products and to strengthen customer confidence in the aviation industry.

Similar to all other standards in the EN 9100 family, EN 9120 is based on the principles of ISO 9001, an internationally recognized quality management system. This means that companies certified to EN 9120 automatically meet the requirements of ISO 9001.

Through EN 9120 certification, companies demonstrate not only their compliance with international quality standards, but also their ability to provide products and services that meet the stringent requirements of the aerospace and defense industry.


Translated with (free version)


Durch eine Zertifizierung nach EN 9120 zeigen Unternehmen nicht nur ihre Einhaltung internationaler Qualitätsstandards, sondern auch ihre Fähigkeit, Produkte und Dienstleistungen bereitzustellen, die den strengen Anforderungen der Luftfahrt-, Raumfahrt- und Verteidigungsindustrie gerecht werden. 

To HSM quality management

What is the KTA 1401 confirmation of suitability about?

KTA 1401 is a set of regulations in the field of nuclear technology in Germany. It was drawn up by the Nuclear Safety Standards Commission (KTA), a technical and scientific committee in Germany that deals with issues relating to the safety of nuclear facilities. KTA 1401 specifies the general requirements for the product and system-related quality assurance of contractors.

KTA 1401 is specifically geared towards the operation of nuclear power plants and contains regulations and requirements designed to ensure that the operation of nuclear power plants is safe and the risks to people and the environment are minimized. These are assessed and confirmed accordingly by German nuclear power plant operators.

What is the ISO 9001 standard?

ISO 9001 is an internationally recognized standard for quality management systems (QMS). It was developed and published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and defines the requirements for a quality management system.

The ISO 9001 standard is intended to help organizations improve customer satisfaction by implementing effective processes for continuous quality improvement.

ISO 9001 specifies various criteria that the company must fulfill in order to be certified. These include, among others

  1. Customer focus: the company must focus on customer satisfaction and meet customer requirements.
  2. Process-oriented approach: The company’s activities and resources must be viewed and managed as processes.
  3. Continuous improvement: The company must constantly improve its performance by monitoring, analyzing and improving its processes.
  4. Leadership: Managers in the company must have a clear vision and motivate employees to achieve the quality objectives.
  5. Employee involvement: All employees must be involved in the quality process and contribute their skills and knowledge to the improvement of the company.

Companies, such as HSM®, that have ISO 9001 certification can demonstrate their ability to deliver products and services that meet customer requirements and the needs of their customers.

To HSM quality management